Northern Area Texel Club


Rachael Hume
6 Dalewood Walk


John Howard
Pear Tree Farm
Great Ayton
North Yorkshire

Tel: 01642 722 387

Mobile: 07774 268871

2015 Calendar of Events 

Download A

Download B

2015  Club Officers 

Chairman - John Howard, Pear Tree Farm, Battersby, Great Ayton, TS9 6LU

Vice - Chairman - Luke Lodge

Secretary - Sarah Beachell, Beswick Hall, 46 Main Street, Beswick, Driffield, East Yorkshire, YO25 9AS

Treasurer - Matt Lake


Club Report 2012

May 2nd, our AGM, saw the beginning of our club year, with Steve Richardson (Stonebridge) taking over the chair from Spiros Spyrou and John North (Loxley) as treasurer from Shirley Hughes.

Flock Visit To Procters Farm

In July we joined with North West Club to visit Procters Farms, where Jeff and Jennifer made us all feel very welcome and provided us with a fabulous day. Jeff showed us field upon field of tremendous sheep, each time telling a story or two about his successes with various sheep. The whole Procters team provided an enjoyable day. They organised a stock judging competition as well as testing our brains in a quiz also allowing us to see their Limousin cattle too.

Some of our members saw placing in the classes at The Great Yorkshire show.Procters Farms claimed seven out of the nine classes for the highest placed Northern Area member in the classes and also took championship honours with their shearling gimmer. Lawrie& Symington Auctioneers kindly donated their commission for the sale of a gimmer lamb at the show, this is to go RABI charity. It was Steve Nesbitt’s last time to host his BBQ on the Tuesday evening, and what an evening, a total sell out. Great support this year at the show, with many Texel Breeders visiting from Ireland and Scotland.

Richard Currie, Ballymena, came over to judge at our Skipton Show/Sale in September. A wonderful entry of sheep with a solid trade. The highest priced in the sale went to a shearling ram from the Moor Top flock of David Towell, which sold for 3,400gns. D A Nesbitt (Deneside) took Supreme Champion and reserve went to JD Houghton (Tophill).

31st Annual Show Class Winners
31st Annual Show Class Winners

John and Alison North (Loxley) judged the flock competition. John & Linda Mellin, Hull House took the overall champion and the Kissthorn Trophy.R Newby (Rudding) held onto the Show Points Trophy again for the 2nd year. This is gained by achieving the most points from wins/places at shows attended.Full presentation of these awards was given out at our dinner in November held at The Anchor Inn, Whixley.

Mark & Helen Keighley’s Supreme Champion
Mark & Helen Keighley’s Supreme Champion

Mark and Helen Keighley (Helmark) regained the supreme championship at the winter show and sale at Skipton in December judged by Chris Riby (Stonehills).The annual fixture is a happy hunting ground for the Keighleys, who have now lifted the title six times in the past seven years, missing out only in 2011.Their latest victor, the first prize shearling ewe from the Manderleaflock, by Stonehills Rockstar. (RKS1000007)

2012 Flock Competition Results

Judged by John & Alison North

Ram lamb

1st Procters Farm Ltd - Braehead Touch of Class

2nd John Howard - Tophill Trooper

3rd John Mellin - Sportsman’s Terrific II

Senior ram

1st John Mellin - Hill Top Predator

2nd Procters Farm Ltd - Midlock Starsky

3rd John Duffy - Parkholme Siriuf

Ewe lambs

1st John Mellin - Hull House

2nd Jack Lucas - Fimber

3rd John Howard - Quercus

Small Flock

1st Jack Lucas - Fimber

2nd John Duffy - Silpho

3rd Charles Arrand - Stonecliffe

Large Flock

1st John Mellin - Hull House

2nd Procters Farm Ltd - Procters

3rd John Howard - Quercus


John Mellin – HULL HOUSE

Reserve Champion Flock

Procters Farm Ltd - PROCTERS

2011 Club Report

2009 Club Report